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OCEP PLAYOFF CERTIFICATION TRAINING
ISSUES FOR THE REFEREE

INTENTIONAL GROUNDING



THE RULE

THE INTENTIONAL GROUNDING IS COVERED
UNDER THE ILLEGAL FORWARD PASS RULE,
7-5-2 A-E



THE RULE

BY RULE, IT IS ILLEGAL TO:

INTENTIONALLY THROW A FORWARD PASS
INTO AN AREA NOT OCCUPIED BY AN
ELIGIBLE OFFENSIVE PLAYER TO SAVE
LOSS OF YARDAGE OR CONSERVE TIME.



THE RULE

EXCEPTION: IT IS LEGAL TO CONSERVE
TIME BY INTENTIONALLY THROWING THE
BALL FORWARD TO THE GROUND (SPIKING
THE BALL) IMMEDIATELY AFTER RECEIVING
THE BALL AFTER A HAND-TO-HAND SNAP.




GUIDELINES

A BACKWARDS PASS MAY BE THROWN TO
SAVE A LOSS OF YARDAGE OR TO
CONSERVE TIME.

THE BALL REMAINS LIVE UNTIL OTHERWISE

DEAD BY RULE AND IS NEXT PUT IN PLAY AT
THE DEAD BALL SPOT.



GUIDELINES

A MUFFED SNAP THAT HITS THE GROUND
OR A PLAYER MAY NOT BE LEGALLY
GROUNDED.

IF A PASSER SPIKES THE BALL AND IT HITS
AN OFFENSIVE LINEMAN AND THEN THE
GROUND, IT IS NOT ILLEGAL TOUCHING.

IF THE BALL HITS THE LINEMAN AND
BOUNCES INTO THE AIR, IT IS LIVE.



GUIDELINES

A BALL SNAPPED IN A “SHOTGUN"
FORMATION MAY NOT BE LEGALLY
GROUNDED.

A “SHOTGUN" FORMATION CANNOT RESULT
IN THE REQUIRED DIRECT, HAND-TO-HAND

SNAP.



GUIDELINES

LOOK FOR THE ABSENCE OF ELIGIBLE
RECEIVERS IN THE AREA AND THE
"‘DUMPING” OF THE BALL TO AVOID LOSS OF

DISTANCE.

THE ABILITY AND SKILL OF THE PASSER
AND THE PRESSURE OF THE DEFENSE ARE
ALSO FACTORS TO CONSIDER.

REFER TO CASE BOOK 7-5-2 SITUATION C,
COMMENT.



GUIDELINES

THE REFEREE IS SOLELY RESPONSIBLE
FOR INTENTIONAL GROUNDING, BUT MAY
GET ASSISTANCE FROM A WING OFFICIAL.

SINCE THE REFEREE HAS THE
RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE PASSER'S
SAFETY, THE REFEREE SHOULD NOT
CONSULT WITH ANOTHER OFFICIAL UNTIL
ALL POST-PLAY ACTION HAS BEEN
CLEARED UP AROUND THE PASSER.



GUIDELINES

c i

IF A WING OFFICIAL HAS PERTINENT
INFORMATION, THAT OFFICIAL MUST GO TO
THE REFEREE TO SHARE THAT
INFORMATION.

THE FINAL DECISION (DELAYED FLAG OR NO
FOUL) RESTS WITH THE REFEREE AS
HE/SHE IS CLOSER TO THE SPOT FROM
WHERE THE BALL WAS THROWN.

REMEMBER, IT LOOKS BETTER TO PICK UP
A FLAG THEN TO THROW A LATE FLAG.




