ID Organization Name Type
105775 aso Other

Dave Hall Officiating

Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Print PDF

 

Over the past several years, Area 8 has had countless officials attend a Dave Hall Camp. 

 
Regardless of your ability or experience, Dave’s camps will make you a better official. 
 
Whether you are pursuing the next level of officiating or wanting to become a better high school referee, the combination of officiating games with a courtside clinician and classroom and film study will help you get there. 
 
I encourage you to attend one of Dave Hall’s Camp and benefitting the student athletes of Colorado
 
 
ray Lutz
719-460-6148

Dave Hall Officiating

Posted: 31 Jan 2017 12:37 PM PST
Dave Hall’s 2017 High School Instructional Camps in Colorado
Metro State University of Denver
Denver, Colorado
May 26, 27, 28—2017 (FridaySaturday, and Sunday)
Cost $240
Dave Hall’s High School Instructional Camp—
University of Northern Colorado
Greeley, Colorado
June 8, 9, 10—2017 (ThursdayFridaySaturday)
Cost: $225
Dave Hall’s High School Instructional Camp
United States Air Force Academy
Colorado Springs, Colorado
June 16, 17, 18 (FridaySaturday, and Sunday)
Cost: $200
   
 

APPEAR COMFORTABLE IN YOUR OWN SKIN

Posted: 19 Dec 2016 11:41 AM PST

Few if any coaches, players or spectators watch officials during a live ball sequence. During live ball. everyone is watching the players and the play at hand.

So when are fans, players, and coaches most likely to look at officials? They watch them during dead ball activity. They watch their foul call signal. They watch officials report fouls. They also are acutely aware of officials when they perform game management tasks like administering free throws or when putting the ball at a throw’s disposal for a throw-in or beckoning in substitutes.

Whether spectators, coaches, and players develop confidence or mistrust in officials can often be traced back to how they perceive the official during dead ball tasks. It is imperative that officials look competent, poised and comfortable during dead ball administrative activity. It is during this time that all involved get the feeling of experience and confidence in the officials working their game.

Little things like how an official delivers the ball to the free thrower or how substitutes are beckoned on to the floor can make a difference in the perception of the officials by onlookers. If the officials look smooth, comfortable and knowledgeable in what he/she does during administrative procedures the chances of coaches and spectators getting a more positive outlook of the officials becomes greater.

Another key dead ball period that spectators may watch officials is when he/she communicates with a coach that may be agitated. If the coach is approached in a calm, poised, and non-threatening manner that officials gives off vibes of experience and confidence.

If you don’t feel comfortable doing some administrative task experiment with different ways to approach the task until you find one that is effective and one that makes you feel comfortable in your own skin.

In the clip below the official beckons in subs, gets the thrower to the designated spot then backs off and delivers the ball in an athletic manner, counts the five-seconds and chops the clock. All this is done in a smooth, poised and effective manner that breeds a feeling of confidence.

 

   

 

Dave Hall Officiating

WHO INITIATES CONTACT?

Posted: 06 Dec 2016 05:37 PM PST

Often when an offensive player who is in the act of shooting initiates contact on a legal defender and that contact is judged to be incidental the proper call is no call at all. The theory is that the defender is not dislodged or displaced to any great degree or put at any significant disadvantage, so rather than calling a cheap charge infraction on the offense, officials “pass” on the contact. And, often that is the correct decision.

The line of demarcation lies somewhere in that “not displaced, not dislodged, not put at any significant disadvantage territory.” Take the video clip below. The defender has clearly obtained LGP but the contact is minimal, The defender may be put at a disadvantage, however, because she is displaced to the extent that maybe she cannot compete for the rebound on an equal basis with the offensive shooter.

This is a tough call. What decision would you make?

WALK AWAY FOUL SIGNAL–Hit and run

Posted: 28 Nov 2016 12:45 PM PST

In this day and age of basketball officiating it is no longer enough just to get the play right. Officials must now make believers out of coaches, players and the fan base in attendance.

Getting all involved to “believe your act” is an ongoing game and season-long process. If officials want those watching the game to believe in them, to have confidence in them and to “buy their act” they have to do the things well that will lead to that outcome. Fortunately, the are not hard to accomplish and don’t take a lot of skill to implement them.

First, be decisive. That means a good strong timely whistle, not too quick and not too late,

Follow this whistle with a good strong foul signal and hold that signal for two or three seconds at least.

Stand still holding the foul signal if the action you are sounding the whistle for is close to you. Close down holding the foul signal about a third of the way if the action is farther away from you or is going away from you when you sounded the whistle.

Closing down doesn’t necessarily mean running down to the play. It is usually walking three or four steps toward the location of the foul. If the action is in transition and quickly going away from you then you may need to run toward the foul while holding the foul signal.

Once you have sounded a decisive whistle, displayed and held a strong foul signal, use your voice and “do the paperwork.” The paperwork is how play will be resumed. Every time we sound the whistle we need to follow it with our voice which will include who fouled, who shoots or who is putting the ball in play by a throw-in where.

“25 that is yours. Blue ball baseline.” That is paperwork. That is managing the game. That will make coaches, players and fans have confidence in you over a period of time and they will believe your act and come to realize you are managing the game and you are the lead official.

This standing still and/or closing down makes you appear connected to the play. It gives people watching the game time to find the whistle and subconsciously make a judgment about how well you saw the play. If every time you sound the whistle their subconscious self, tells them that you were connected to the play, over a period of time they will become believers.

Compare standing still or closing down toward the action to the official who as he/she sounds the whistle is off and walking toward the scorer’s table looking back over his/her shoulder trying to find a number of the player who fouled. They never do any paperwork and often all involved must wait until they report to find out how play is to be resumed Their subconscious vibrations will not translate to being connected to the play

So, in summary:

Decisive whistle

Close appropriately holding the foul signal.

Use your voice doing the paperwork—who fouled and who shoots or if there are no shots awarded who throws the ball in where

Good reporting mechanics to the table

In the video below the lead probably gets the call right but is off and running with the whistle, shoddy foul signal, looking over his shoulder trying to get a number, no paperwork and all in all not making us feel confident in his decision.

 

Timely Rotations

Posted: 18 Nov 2016 11:45 AM PST

Timely rotations are at the core of our front court officiating strategy. “Timely” means that the crew does not want to rotate too early and certainly doesn’t want to rotate too late. We all know that we rotate to put our officiating crew in the best possible position to officiate the play at hand. This concept depends on the rotation being on time, not getting to the station after the train has already departed, and not being there too early only to eventually find that the train never comes.

The key to a timely rotation is to get “closed down” when the ball location no longer dominates the strong side coverage. Lead officials want a wider look when the ball is on the strong side, especially when the ball is located where it can be entered to the post or passed or dribbled to the strong side deep corner.
However, when the ball is located up on top or has crossed the basket line the lead must get closed down to be in a position to initiate a timely rotation. The lead wants to be ball side before the ball is entered to the post if at all possible, and this depends on being at the “launching pad” at the appropriate time.

During a film review, I often see lead officials who have the appropriate wide position when the ball is strong side stay in that position when the ball leaves the strong side to the top of the key or even to the weak side. These officials then have way too far to rotate and as a result, they are late getting to the train station.

Similarly, I often see lead officials who continue to go ball side initiating a rotation when the ball changes location or status during the rotation. I urge you to not complete the rotation if a shot goes up. Simply abort the rotation and back out.

Don’t complete a rotation if during the process the ball changes location by going back to the point or by being “skipped” back across the court. Simply back out of the rotation. To continue the rotation in these situations puts your crew in a worse position to officiate than a better position.

Here are a couple of other situations that call for backing out or suspending the rotation rather than completing it. It seems uncanny to me how many turnovers that occur right smack dab in the middle of a rotation by the lead. If this happens to you as the lead, quickly back out of the rotation and let the old trail become the new lead rather than making the old center kill him/herself trying to beat the ball down the floor. Talk about the possibility of this situation happening and how you are going to handle it in your pregame.

Finally, if there is a drive to the hole from the “C” side and the lead has started a rotation it may be best to suspend that rotation and find the secondary defender that will inevitably appear to help the primary defender. In this situation, the lead may not want to back out of the rotation but to stop in the “pinched” position and be ready to help rule on any contact that should occur.

 

 

A SIGNIFICANT RULE CHANGE

Posted: 15 Nov 2016 10:58 AM PST

There is only one significant rule change for this season. Rule 2-12-5 now instructs the timer to sound a warning signal concurrently with the beginning of the 15-second timing interval for replacing a disqualified or injured player. Rule 10-6-2 requires the coach to replace the injured or disqualified player in the 15-second period mentioned above.

In the distant past, coaches had 30-seconds for replacing disqualified or injured players. The warning buzzer was rung at 15-seconds. Then the rules committee thought that coaches were using this replacement time period more for time-out purposes than for replacing players. The committee didn’t like the “gamesmanship” involved.

Then in the near distant past, the rules committee reduced the time period for the replacement to 20-seconds with the warning buzzer sounding 15- seconds before the period ended. The result was the same according to the NFHS. Coaches were still utilizing this replacement period for talking to their players rather than quickly providing a substitute.

Now for the 16-17 season, the time to replace a disqualified or injured player has been reduced to 15-seconds with the warning buzzer coming immediately.

The rationalization for this change is that the coach already knows who they want for a replacement when they see the player injured or foul out.

The replacement scenario goes like this for a disqualified player.

The official reports the foul and is informed that number 15 has fouled out.

The official then informs the coach of the offending player of the disqualification.

Next the official instructs the timer to sound the warning buzzer and to start the 15 second replacement period.

Finally the official informs the player of their disqualification.

As in all things officiating, “pace” plays an important part in the replacement procedure. Try and not be too fast but certainly don’t be too slow.

Rule 10-6-2 requires the replacement in the time period stated and failure by the coach to do so results is a direct technical foul charged to the coach.

Discretion should be used as to when to start the replacement period when an injured player is involved. Make sure the coach has finished tending to the injured player and is now able to return to his/her coaching duties before instructing the timer to sound the buzzer and beginning the replacement period.

ray lutz


Dave Hall Officiating

 

AP ARROW MISTAKES

Posted: 09 Nov 2016 12:02 PM PST

I came across the question below while reviewing an old IAABO refresher test.

Following a held ball, the official mistakenly awards the ball to Team A. After the ball is legally touched inbounds, the mistake is recognized. The official rules the mistake cannot be corrected once the throw-in ends. Is the official correct?

The answer as you no doubt know is yes, the official is correct.

Why did the official mistakenly award the ball to Team A?

Because the alternating possession arrow was pointing towards Team A.

And, why was it pointing in Team A’s favor?

Because the score keeper for one reason or another did not set the arrow or did not reset the arrow when she was supposed to do so and the officiating crew was not skilled enough to catch that the AP arrow was amiss.

I saw all or parts of 87 games last season at seven different playing levels and off of the top of my head, I can recall seeing at least four AP arrow mistakes.

One of those mistakes occurred at the beginning of a game. The official tossed the ball and Team A got control right off the tip, but the scorer did not set the AP arrow. It remained dark. And it remained dark for six minutes, through two timeouts and three or four free throw attempts. It wasn’t discovered until just under the 4:00-minute mark when the first held ball occurred. It took a little time to sort the situation out but the ball was eventually awarded to the correct team for the throw-in.

Another mistake I witnessed occurred in a DII women’s game. There was a held ball and the ball was correctly awarded to Team A for an AP throw-in. At that point, Team B requested and was granted a full time out. After the timeout the ball was put at Team A’s disposal and they threw it in but the scorekeeper did not change the arrow, and the officiating crew did not catch the error.

That scenario occurred with about three minutes remaining in the second quarter and wasn’t discovered until after half time when the official was about to award Team A the ball at half court. The assistant coach of Team B had been keeping track of the AP arrow on a clipboard and quickly called the discrepancy to the attention of the officiating staff. It finally got straightened out after a few minutes of discussion. How embarrassing it must have been for the officiating crew to have an assistant coach bail them out of a mistake.

In another situation, A1 had the ball out of bounds for a throw-in as a result of a held ball. Before the throw-in ended A2 was called for an illegal screen. Since A2’s foul was a team control foul Team B was awarded a throw-in nearest the spot of the foul. When B1’s throw-in was complete the score keeper turned the AP arrow in Team B’s favor. As I am sure you know a foul by either team during an AP throw-in does not cause a change in the AP arrow direction. To my knowledge, no one ever caught this mistake.

Finally, Team A had the ball for an AP throw-in and promptly threw the ball all the way across the court and directly out of bounds untouched. The play was rightly ruled a throw-in violation by Team A and the ball was brought back to the spot of the throw-in and awarded to Team B who threw the ball inbounds to a teammate. The scorekeeper did not reverse the arrow and no one on the officiating crew noticed the mistake.

Again, as I am sure you know, if Team A violates an AP throw-in they lose the ball and they lose the arrow as well.

So, the moral here is twofold, First, remember to take a peek at the arrow after the initial jump ball and after all AP throw-ins to make sure the arrow gets set correctly. The administering official should be primary on this task but the rest of the crew can and should take a look as well.

Secondly, be extra vigilant in making sure the arrow is set correctly if there is a timeout, violation or foul involved in the AP arrow scenario.

ray lutz

\

Dave Hall Officiating

 

STAYING TABLE SIDE

Posted: 10 Feb 2016 07:04 PM PST

On a recent mechanics test that was a required assignment by Colorado officials wanting to be certified for the 2016 post season, there was a question that was missed by many. That question stated that officials in Colorado were required to always go opposite after reporting a foul.

IAABO officials who go opposite after reporting a foul have the option of staying table side if they feel they could better communicate with a coach that was particularly upset with or clearly didn’t understand an official’s ruling. Officials operating under the NFHS mechanics book stay table side after reporting, so this is a moot point for them.

It is my view that officials do not exercise the option of staying table side nearly enough. Very often, even before an official begins the reporting process, he is aware that a coach is visibly upset with a ruling. So, instead of going to the opposite side of the floor and leaving the coach little or no option other than to yell loudly and gesture wildly all the way across the floor, simply choose to stay table side, sending your partner opposite and have a short concise conversation with the coach.

Listen to the coach. Make sure you understand what her concern is.

Tell the coach the truth about what you saw in a short compact statement.

If the truth is that the defender was vertical and the offense created the contact, tell her that. If the truth is that you anticipated a foul, but the play ended up in a held ball and you blew your whistle too quickly, tell her that.

There are all kinds of concise effective strategies you can use in the short few seconds you may have to communicate with a coach in stressful situations.

Do not be reticent to talk with a coach when it is appropriate to do so. I encourage you to develop your own bag of tricks and you cannot do that if you are afraid to talk to a coach.

And remember, he who asks the question controls the conversation.
Short, sweet and concise. Don’t hold up the action with a prolonged conversation. And don’t explain every call.

Here are some strategies that have worked for others in the past.

“What have you got coach?”

“What did you see?”

“I hear you”

“Got it”

“Yea, I might have screwed that up.”

“What am I supposed to do on that play?”

That’s a tough play, I think I got it right.”

“Maybe, your right, but I had an awfully good look.”

“Really?” “That’s not what I saw.”

“Coach by rule…”

“I got that play dead right.”

“I have to go.”

   

 

   

DRIBBLING FROM BACKCOURT TO FRONTCOURT

Posted: 22 Jan 2016 11:24 AM PST

Backcourt violations are difficult to officiate because they often surprise officials and the rule is complicated and takes a lot of understanding. Especially difficult is the part of the backcourt rule covering the player who is dribbling from backcourt to frontcourt. A key to remember is that the division line is in backcourt and if the player or the ball is touching backcourt the ball location is still in backcourt and the ten-second count should continue.

Below are some rules citations that apply.

Rule: 4-4-1

ART. 1

A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player (either player if the ball is touching more than one) is touching the backcourt.

ART. 2
A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the frontcourt if ¬neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.

ART 6
During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.

Rule: 4-13-2

ART. 2

A team’s backcourt consists of the rest of the court, including the entire division line and the opponent’s basket and inbounds part of the ¬opponent’s backboard.

The covering official in the clip below demonstrates a thorough understanding of the backcourt rule as discussed above and clearly continues the ten-second count.

 

   

Dave Hall Officiating

 

   

REVISITING A POINT OF EMPHASIS

Posted: 11 Jan 2016 12:33 PM PST

? Rule 9-1-3g was revised in 2014-15 to allow a player occupying a marked lane space to enter the lane on the release of the ball by the free thrower. As a result of this change, protection of the free thrower needs to be emphasized. On release of the ball by the free thrower, the defender boxing out shall not cross the free-throw line extended into the semicircle until the ball contacts the ring or backboard.

The above statement is from the 2015-16 points of emphasis power point. Nowhere in the rule or casebook can I find any statement that says that when boxing out the free thrower a player cannot break the free throw line. So, this point of emphasis is based on the fact that 9-1-3g says that players occupying marked lane spaces can step into the LANE and apparently not behind the free throw line until the ball hits the rim or backboard.

In the early season, some officials have found “tough sledding” when trying to enforce this point of emphasis. The problem is that it requires an official to focus on two areas at the same time that are fifteen feet apart. I am speaking of the free throw line and the rim.

The player boxing out the free throw shooter cannot touch the line or anywhere behind it until the ball hits the rim. It is a difficult ruling to see both actions at the same time. I suggest that you save your whistle for the really obvious.

I also suggest that instead of trying to “knit pick” this free throw violation, officials may be better served by being aware of any illegal contact that the opponent might inflict on the shooter behind the line.

In the past couple of years, we have seen the occasional “butt” displacing the shooter as well as the player boxing out trying to step on the toes of the shooter. Charge personal fouls in these situations.

Below is a clip showing a player who occupies a marked lane space step on or behind the free throw line at about the very instant the shot hits the rim. It is too close and too difficult to call in my view.

See what you think.

 

   

Dave Hall Officiating

 

THE EURO STEP

Posted: 10 Jan 2016 11:08 AM PST

The so-called Euro Step first appeared in the US about 5-7 years ago in the NBA. From there it quickly spread to the collegiate ranks and has now slowly filtered down to the high school level.

The big debate about the Euro step is whether or not it is an illegal move and is actually traveling. Many folks are passionate on both sides of this issue. I believe the truth of the matter lies, as it does with other suspect traveling moves, in the knowledge of which foot is the pivot foot when the dribble ends.

In the video clip below there appear to be three options to me. If the dribble driver ended the dribble with his left foot on the floor then a traveling violation occurs because the left foot was raised and reset before the ball was released on the shot.

If the dribble driver ended the dribble with both feet off the floor, then the first foot to touch the floor was the right foot which becomes the pivot foot and then the play becomes legal with a step with the
non-pivot foot, the left, and then the shot before the right foot again touches the floor.

If the dribble driver ended the dribble with the right foot on the floor, again the move is legal and is simply a lay-up shot.

The difficulty in officiating this play is that it is almost impossible to the naked eye to correctly determine when the dribble ended and which foot ( if any) was on the floor serving as the pivot foot. In fact, it is, for me, a challenge to determine this even in slow-motion. Probably you are much sharper than I am, however.

So, the best approach to this play may be to stay off of it all together unless it is done awkwardly and slowly and is obviously traveling.

Study the video clip below. Download it if you can and study it in slow motion. If you cannot download it write me and I will send you the file.
Ray Lutz
raylutz40@gmail.com

 
 
About | Contact | Privacy | Terms
© 2019 ArbiterSports
Server: 19
 
ABT-WEB19